top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureebbthegoatherd

Hamilton The Musical Thoughts

Just after a month after Hamilton was released on Disney Plus, I am finally here to give my thoughts. Better late than never, right?


Credit: Disney Plus



So, just a bit of my story before I get into it. I actually only discovered this musical around the time that I started this blog, which was in April.


One night, I decided to listen to the soundtrack just to see what the hype was all about. To be honest, the first time I listened I didn't understand the hype. I was wondering why people were getting so emotional about it.


Then, I realized this was simply because I was confused. I didn't know the history.


So that's when I went ahead and did a few hours of research before coming back and listening to the soundtrack again.


And since then, my obsession has not dwindled.


After listening to all 46 songs multiple times through, I thought that was enough, that I didn't really even have to see the play on Broadway.


I was thoroughly impressed with the vocals and genius of the lyrics, did I really need to see all the dancing and props?


Turns out I certainly did. I watched the musical the first time through on the morning it came out on Disney Plus, and I literally could not look away.


Each and every song was made multitudes better with the expressions of the magnificent actors and dancing, even the flawless costumes.


Particularly, I was awed by how much Leslie Odom Jr., who played Aaron Burr, could convey in his eyes during his solo songs, "Wait for It" and "The Room Where It Happens".


(In fact, those two soon became my favorite songs in the musical. The intensity of "The Room Where It Happens" was insane!)


Furthermore, in the soundtrack I never paid much attention to George Washington, but Christopher Jackson's portrayal made me pull my focus over to him during songs such as "One Last Time".


I believe previously, my favorite songs on the soundtrack were likely Burn and Dear Theodosia, because often I pay little attention to the lyrics of songs.


However, when watching this musical, this changed greatly, I appreciated the background music, of course, but I noticed how wonderful the lyrics were, and was mesmerized by how everything fit together perfectly.


For example, some phrases are reused a few times in different songs, such as "That would be enough," or "He will never be satisfied." I think that those lines are some good examples to show the genius that is the musical. Even though some songs are slower, with less words, they can still take much effort to write.


On the other hand, the rap wonder that is "My Shot" actually blew me away. I will never understand how Miranda even knows so many words to be able to rhyme like that.


Yes, the musical did take many years to create, but it's still rare that something can be so... unbelievably perfect.


So, yes, this sounds very dramatic, but Hamilton actually changed my perception of music, and is honestly incomparable.

It's a very short review, but I think if I don't stop now I could go on for hours. Sorry for such a long break!




0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page